NaNo Loco: Week 4 “Merry New Book!”

Time to relax...It was a long month. A month of relentless prose put me in a psychic haze I haven’t felt since last year. I haven’t had the heart to write for days, but have been slowly coming out of it. Just like last year, when I came to the end, I wanted to never do it again. We’ll see how I feel in 11 months, though.

World to Brain…World to Brain…Come In Brain!

It’s a strange feeling to notice, after pumping out that much story that fast, I do not remember a lot of it. It’s like the memory drain I used to associate with cramming for finals. Now that I’ve had a few days to unwind and disengage from the novel I look back on the two composition books filled with writing and flip through them with a mingling of surprise, pride, relief, and a vague notion of how much more work is required to make it a novel worthy of its audience. The key to writing is rewriting. It’s a big job. It’s a lot of writing.

I did it!

I did it!

The Results

I did it! I reached 50,000 words on 2:04 AM on November 30th, wrote for a couple more hours because I was on a roll, then took the rest of the month off, all 20 hours of it! My total word count was 51,481. I am pleased with the story and the characters grew. Also, just like last year, I finished the contest with a renewed ambivalence about the whole process, because it was a lot of very real, very hard, work, crescendoing in fatigue, with not enough time to finish. The beauty is that I have a first draft of an entire novel, where one month ago there was nothing.

Still done!

Still done!

And Now…December

Back to the important stuff...

Back to the important stuff…

It’s lovely to be enjoying December, crafting presents, writing cards, thinking of others and the pleasant times we’ve shared. Thank you so much to all of my readers, friends, and family, who have shown me such extraordinary support. Especially while I put my entire social life on hold for the past month. I am a lucky man, thanks to you! And remember, if you are looking for the perfect gift for the science fiction and speculative ficiton reader in your life, the original installment of TJ & Tosc: A Field Guide for Life After Western Culture is available now, in gorgeous paperback and Kindle ebook.

Thanks for reading! Reading rules!

Chicken Dinner!

About Suhail Rafidi

Suhail Rafidi is a novelist and educator whose works explore the destiny of human values in a technological landscape. You can find him on Twitter, too, @shelldive.
This entry was posted in Authors and Writing, Books, Science Fiction, The Writing Profession and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NaNo Loco: Week 4 “Merry New Book!”

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Fantastic news! I can’t wait to read your novel some day 🙂 I’m very proud of you!!

  2. Congrats on completing that, wow!

Leave a Reply

