NaNo Loco: Week 2 (Teaser included!)

I have made it through week two. Feeling pretty good, with exactly as much to go. I’m so far into the story now that I’m having an awkward time interacting socially with people, because my brain is immersed in the story world. It takes a few hours to snap out of it. That’s why after going to work one day this week and feeling thoroughly psychically distant, I managed to get a few days covered and stayed home with the pen and paper.

Picking Up Steam

But it’s working, I’m building up a slight lead, which – if things go well – I will be able to squander come Thanksgiving weekend. I’ve taken a rest from writing for just this morning, because last night I hit the halfway mark and got down right tired, despite getting full nights of sleep all week. It felt so good to come so far, but it felt a little daunting to realize this was only half way.

Half. Half???

Steeling for the Difficult Part

If I remember correctly – and I usually do – the fourth week is more difficult than the first two weeks combined. Which makes it imperative that I pace myself through this upcoming third week. I just spent three days, not coming up for air, not visiting with anyone, not eating anything I couldn’t readily pull out of the fridge or cupboard, not leaving the house, to leave as much time for writing as possible. This turned out well, because in those three days I wrote 42 pages, which is about KICKASS!

Composition Book POWER!

One excellent little morale booster was filling up my first composition book of this NaNo. It was a magical feeling to reach the last page of the empty notebook and realize that it wasn’t empty anymore – and it was my doing!

The hand-filled composition book next to a a fresh, blank book ready for scrawl.

Your Numerology Consult

I did not write anything today, but I have got some encouraging calculations for you:

Words needed to be on schedule for the end of week two: 25,000

Words so far: 32,229

Number of composition books filled: 1.083

Number of Pilot G-2 gel ink roller ball pens dried out: 3

“What the hell is this?”
“I don’t know, but it says we’re on schedule.”

Keep Your Eyes On The Prize

As of this morning, I am significantly ahead of schedule, which made it pleasant for me to sleep in for the first time in over a week. But I squeezed some extra juice out of week two because I am anticipating losing productivity around Thanksgiving. One thing I’ve got in my favor is a true affection for my story. I am so happy to be back in the TJ & Tosc universe, cultivating new characters and revisiting some ones, that I personally want to get to the end very much. I need to get to the end.

The First Line

For next week, I hope to prepare an excerpt of the story to show you, my fabulous readers. But I don’t want to get ahead of myself. There is much to do, and it’s time to get back to the book. Until then, here is a comparable little teaser from TJ & Tosc: The Case of the Silent Planet. I leave you with the first line of the novel:

William Mace almost never left the solar system anymore.

Thank you for reading! Reading rules!

About Suhail Rafidi

Suhail Rafidi is a novelist and educator whose works explore the destiny of human values in a technological landscape. You can find him on Twitter, too, @shelldive.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo Loco: Week 2 (Teaser included!)

  1. Suzanne says:

    Way to go!! Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

