NaNo Loco: Week 4, or “What just happened?”

Hello, dear readers. Here I am. There goes November. National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) 2011 has come and gone. Bring on the Christmas bonanza!  My brain feels like pudding. I spent so much time immersed in Cetus Finalis that I feel like even blogging is inadvisable because I have no idea what I will say. My thoughts are barely thoughts anymore. My cousin has flown into town to help me decompress and celebrate after all those weeks of relentless writing.

Yes, I said “decompress AND celebrate.” I PHreakin’ did it, which is nice! I finished my novel! I got to the end! I came in over 50,000 words, thank goodness.

I WROTE A BOOK IN A MONTH! I’m saying it in all caps because my brain is too tired to actually feel excited, or accomplished, or much of anything. December 1st doesn’t feel as good as I thought it might. The book was more difficult toward the end, so I don’t have the same enthusiasm now that it’s over. I didn’t hit a wall until the last three days, but I did hit a wall.

Less Fun Than It Looks

The last 25% of the book was appreciably more difficult than the first 50%. As the weeks rolled by, it tested my stamina as the book became more demanding in the second half. There are entire chapters that I had to cover in a few sentences, but I got the whole story out. All things considered, I can’t wait to do it again next year! I learned a lot about my own talents and perceived limits during NaNoWriMo that I may not have learned otherwise. I know I will improve next year. And –

That's not my napkin.

I WROTE A BOOK IN A MONTH!

The novel is done, and for now, so am I! It’s definitely a first draft, meaning that at 57,000 words it still needs about 15,000 more words to be a good book, ready for audience consumption. I’m going to let it cool off for the holidays, read a book or two. Then start in on the rewrites in January. I’m really looking forward to getting back to my normal blogging schedule of researched and polished articles of interest and entertainment, rather than my indulgent personal blather.

Power To My People!

I want to extend a deep, warm, heartfelt, “HAILS Yeah!” of gratitude to all of my readers, fellow writers, friends, and family whose interest and enthusiasm buoyed me to the end. Your support means more to me than you imagine!

Thank you for reading! Reading Rules!

-Suhail.

About Suhail Rafidi

Suhail Rafidi is a novelist and educator whose works explore the destiny of human values in a technological landscape. You can find him on Twitter, too, @shelldive.
This entry was posted in Authors and Writing, The Writing Profession and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaNo Loco: Week 4, or “What just happened?”

  1. Way to go Suhail, I knew you can do it. What an awesome endeaver you have accomplished.

  2. Suhad says:

    Rock. On. Suhail. So Happy For you! What a November you must have had!

  3. Pingback: NaNo Loco: Week 2 (Teaser included!) | My Writes

Leave a Reply

