NaNo Loco: Authors, Get Your Book On!

It’s real. It’s happening. National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) 2011. NaNoWriMo is billed as “30 days and nights of literary abandon,” where writers challenge themselves to write a complete novel, from beginning to end, in thirty days.

If you are unfamiliar with NaNoWriMo, I used to be just like you. Every November for the past 12 years, an increasing number of writers have been participating in this creativity- and morale-building challenge. The task is to write a complete novel of at least 50,000 words in length, with a beginning, middle, and end. The emphasis is on productivity and creativity, not instant perfection. Revisions come later.

Official NaNoWriMo Participant

Count me in!

Last year, over 200,000 writers participated in the NaNo. If you want to know how many actually finished, check out their NaNoWriMo Press Kit. I have registered, profiled myself, and downloaded my NaNoWriMo web badge.

I’m warming up for November with short story writing, so I can peel out full speed into the novel I’ve been incubating in my mind – a fantastic and historic tale of nature’s cycles, new technology, and social upheaval. This year is my first NaNo, in which I’ll be writing my second novel. Stay tuned to find out what the upcoming month does to me. And wish me luck! (If I’m lucky, I won’t need it.)

About Suhail Rafidi

Suhail Rafidi is a novelist and educator whose works explore the destiny of human values in a technological landscape. You can find him on Twitter, too, @shelldive.
This entry was posted in Authors and Writing, Books, The Writing Profession and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to NaNo Loco: Authors, Get Your Book On!

  1. Good luck with that. I’m not up to the challenge this year, but I have respect for everyone that is going to participate. I’m curious to see how it progresses. I assume you’ll keep posting as you go along?

Leave a Reply

