Autumn Agribundle

almost time to move to the garden patch...My late year garden is planted; radish, carrot, arugula, and Swiss chard.  I sprouted them in the kitchen using eggshells filled with garden soil.

Two weeks ago, a few days after the harvest moon, I pulled up the summer tomato plants, the zucchini and the basil, turned the soil, and transplanted the autumn sprouts. For fun, I even jammed a few garlic cloves into the ground around the perimeter of the little garden patch. It has only been 2 weeks so far, but the sprouts are growing rapidly, even the garlic, which have sent up slender green stalks probing for air and light. It is a pleasure to see the morning’s rising sunshine spill gradually across the garden patch and illuminate their tiny green leaves. Most of the garden is radishes because they mature in 25 days and I’ be able to get about 50 days from September 27th, when I planted, until snow and frost return to middle Tennessee. That’s two rounds of radishes, maybe even three if I stagger them. Radishes are fun that way. I enjoy contemplating the ancientI like how keeping a garden breaks up the year. Because I frequently miss California, tending a garden makes the year seem to go by faster.

Working with plants makes me think more about plants and take notice of them. I’ve begun cultivating a houseplant, also. A beautiful succulent called a Mother of Thousands or, if you’ve a proclivity for botany, a Kalanchoe daigremontiana. It’s a lovely plant with waxy leaves that hold a lot of water.  This plant is also known as a Mexican Hat Plant because of the decorative way in which it reproduces. It creates a fringe of hanging plantlets along the rim of its broad stalky leaves.

Kalanchoe daigremontiana

Party on, Mexican Hat Plant

With time they fall off or are knocked off and grow into [many] new plants. Being succulents, they can thrive with very little water. It reputedly has vibrant pinkish purple flowers, but I have yet to see those with my own eyes. I’ve also learned that they are poisonous to mammals, so I won’t be feeding these soothing, prolific and tenacious plants to any livestock.

About Suhail Rafidi

Suhail Rafidi is a novelist and educator whose works explore the destiny of human values in a technological landscape. You can find him on Twitter, too, @shelldive.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

