Stranger Log – Entry Two – Max and Will

Current mood: swing-armed

Have a friendly conversation with a random stranger every day. It’s an apple a day for the city.

<><><><><><><><><><><><>
I’m taking a walk in my neighborhood at night. So is a neighbor. She is walking two dogs and one of them comes over to meet me.
“What are your dogs names?” I inquire.
“Max and Will,” she indicates, pointing to Max then to Will. “They’re getting pretty old.”
“How old?”
“13 years.”
“Wow. We have a dog — named Gracie. She’s 4. She lives with my mom.”
Max ambles over to bark at me, but it comes out as a vulgar wheeze. I offer my hand to both dogs, remembering to keep my palm up and under their noses so as not to startle them. I pet their heads. Will sits down and stares. After showing me who’s boss, Max turns away and looks at a house. They move meticulously.
“He has Alzheimer’s,” she explains.
“Wow. Does he remember you?”
“Oh, yes. But he’ll get into a corner and not be able to find his way out.”
Will continues to sit and stare at me.
“Do you have food in that bag?”
“Yes,” I reply.
“That’s what hes staring at. C’mon, will.”
“Ha! Scent wins out.”
“It’s the last thing to go,” she affirms.
We chuckle.
“Have a good evening.”
“You, too.”
Tonight I met Max and Will, the ancient twins.

Currently listening:
Nighthawks at the Diner
By Tom Waits
Release date: 25 October, 1990

About Suhail Rafidi

Suhail Rafidi is a novelist and educator whose works explore the destiny of human values in a technological landscape. You can find him on Twitter, too, @shelldive.
This entry was posted in Stranger Log. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

