Sparks and Religions

the air is cold and dry today.  there is a lot of static
electricity in the office air today.  a lot of electrons being
transferred between the carpet and my body, then back to
the metal cabinets.  tiny pet crackling noises punctuating
the whispers of my gumsoled desert boots along the nylon
carpet.  I’m a dynamo!  my fingertips!  these knuckles! they
channel the most elemental essential force in the universe.
ow. I almost don’t flinch anymore when it happens.

I’m contemplating my expenditures this month. the VW bus needs
new tires and alignment.  I’m quitting one of my jobs.  I’m
contemplating my little art projects like my F.V.K. Fearless
Vampire Killer Starter Kit.  I’ve carved and sharpened a
wooden stake and a couple of crucifixes that  can be interlocked
into one thick crucifix for double the warding power; some
garlic sealed in a jar, some holy water from Our Lady of Angels
Catholic church in  Burlingame, CA, and a bible of course.

one of the beautiful things about dungeons and dragons is the
way that the fantasy realm conceptualizes religion.  there
exists a wide and varied spectrum of faiths, rituals, modes
of worship, and even deities.  not merely one, overarching
polytheistic tradition, but even some monotheistic religions
that are not mutually exclusive.  all that and holy water
works on vampires regardless of the denomination it was
consecrated under.  different races have different gods and
there are religious wars just like any other real or imagined
world but there is commonality of holiness.  that always meant
a lot to me.  I am so glad I played that silly wonderful game for
so long and got so involved in it.  for me, it was replete with
tiny lessons like that, itty bitty mirrors of philosophical structures that facilitated an understanding of the real world I walk through every day as I work for the weekend, the real world that invented that fantasy world and was, in turn, invented by it.  paying attention to detail.

About Suhail Rafidi

Suhail Rafidi is a novelist and educator whose works explore the destiny of human values in a technological landscape. You can find him on Twitter, too, @shelldive.
This entry was posted in games, Reflection and Personal Knowledge and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

